top of page

"Fort Rozz" Roundtable, Supergirl Season 3, Episode 11

This week we saw Kara taking an important step in the fight against Reign by seeking out one of the Kryptonian priestesses on Fort Rozz for information. The mission led to some interesting team ups, both for Kara and at the DEO. Read on below to find out what we thought about the episode.

This episode saw Supergirl team up with some unlikely people (former foes); did you like how this turned out? Any thoughts on this one?

Michelle - I was in LOVE with this one. I loved all of it and I really loved the writing and how all these different characters interacted with one another. I wasn’t expecting to hate this episode, but I also wasn’t expecting to love it as much as I did. The dynamics were great among this group of mix-matched goodies and baddies and I just loved every minute of it. I don’t know where this ranks among episodes this season for me, but it’s high up there and it has a lot to do with the female power going on. It struck me just how many women were on the screen at once, for a big chunk of the episode. It blew the Bechdel Test out of the goddamn water and showed so much development among each woman on board. I can’t rave enough about this. We don’t get this kind of female power often, and my little feminist heart is jumping with joy at this. Yes, half of them were evil, but as we continually see with Supergirl, she can get to the compassionate, good side of almost anyone, which was seen with both Livewire and Psi and it definitely is a foreshadowing of her battle with Reign, I believe. I’m super bummed about Livewire, but I think it was for a good reason, whatever that may be (story-wise, character-wise, etc.).

Cristina - I’m not a fan of it at all. It was all completely unnecessary and poorly written from beginning to end. They went directly against the comics in regards to what a blue star actually is just to have an excuse for an all-female team up; specifically, the worst all-female team up these writers could’ve ever conceived. The number one rule of field work is that you don’t go out in the field with people you don’t trust, and I think it’s safe to say that Kara doesn’t trust any of them, for obvious reasons. It made absolutely no sense that J’onn allowed this mission in the first place. It only got worse as the episode went on from Kara needing to be saved multiple times because she had no powers to Livewire’s unnecessary man-bashing remarks - because you know, “#feminism.” It was truly ironic that they ended up being saved from being turned into blue star barbecue by a member of “the lesser sex” while Imra once again proved to be useless. The writing for Psi and Livewire was cringy, although Yael did a good job acting-wise. I honestly didn’t really see any character development come from this mission. At the end of the day, Psi and Livewire still just went out of self-interest and not wanting to become Reign’s next victim. For me personally, it made no sense for Livewire to sacrifice herself for Supergirl. She definitely didn’t care that much and plus, she’s not dumb. She was behind Reign when Kara was about to be heat visioned and then suddenly Livewire jumps between them? That just doesn’t make any sense from a directing standpoint. If anything, Livewire should’ve barreled into Reign or sent another bolt of electricity into her. It didn’t make sense, but I guess they just wanted to kill Livewire. Imra definitely had no development. For a moment, I thought we would get something when Psi went into her head, but nothing. Even Kara didn’t really have development. One might say that she used her inner strength, she felt bad about Leslie and Reign, et cetera et cetera...but this is nothing new for her. We’ve seen moments since season one where she had to rely on her inner strength and heart to achieve something, rather than her powers. And likewise, we’ve seen since season one how she beats herself up for not being able to reach someone and save them. This isn’t a novel concept. It’s not development because this is who Kara has been for as long as we’ve known her. As Alex once said to Kara in season one: “You’ve always had the heart of a hero...way before you [became Supergirl].”

Winnie - Ignoring that I thought there being a star that was only harmful to those with the Y chromosome kind of silly, I thought it was a fun work around. Psi and Livewire were solid villains in their times, and seeing them back was fun. I loved the all-female team up and the witty banter. I thought this was an interesting decision on Kara’s behalf but I think it’s hinting at a bigger struggle she is dealing with. After everything, she still believes she can “save” Reign as she explains to Livewire on Fort Rozz. Now deciding to bring back two villains to her aid, in my mind, kind of services that narrative of “everyone deserves a second chance, everyone can be saved”. Although cynical at first, Kara’s words did get through to Livewire who ended up sacrificing herself to save Supergirl. This episode kind of reminded me of “Human for a Day,” one of my all time faves, where Kara’s beliefs and her sticking to them is what saves the day (although maybe not as gracefully as with powers).

Opal - I’m going to have to agree with Cristina on this. I actually felt like my intelligence as an audience member was being insulted with the blue star stuff. Little background for people: blue giants in astronomy are hot stars (aka hotter than our own sun) and therefore in the comics they make members of the Super family much stronger. Also the Y chromosome is only unique to mammals not all male members of different species, so Brainy being part synthetic life form could have joined them. And again, the team up made no sense. Why didn’t Kara reach out to some of her Earth-1 friends? There are plenty of female heroines that would have happily lended her a hand (I bet Sara would have loved to drop by and said hi to Alex too!). In all, this little excursion to Fort Rozz made no sense. And I don’t really think they learned anything too significant about Reign and we as audience members didn’t either. Livewire’s death felt like a waste because I actually liked her for the first time since season one. It didn’t feel feminist to me, especially because Livewire (again as Cristina mentioned) was talking down to men and she even called one of her fellow compatriots a “real housewife” in a very derogatory way (let’s not tear down other women with backhanded compliments and call ourselves feminist, Supergirl). And then at the end of the day they were all saved by a male character anyways. Feminism is about showing that females are just as competent as males, it isn’t about belittling one gender over the other. I thought this was one of the most poorly crafted episodes this season. All that being said, I did enjoy the banter between Psi and Livewire in the ship and some of Livewire’s one liners.

Mia - I really liked it. I wish we would have seen more teamwork than we did, but it was different and fun in my opinion. Psi and Livewire’s scenes together were hilarious. I was genuinely sad when Livewire sacrificed herself for Kara, just after calling the gang her friends. She just wanted to belong and for someone to believe in her. I thought the scene with Psi and Imra when Imra took off the psychic dampener was super intense; I want to know what went on inside their heads! But all in all, I really love when Supergirl has a team, showing she isn’t putting herself above everyone else and accepting help when she needs it.

The CW.

What are your thoughts on how the Legion members are integrating with the other characters and at the DEO?

Michelle - I absolutely LOVED the Winn and Brainy scenes. Brainy is a little shit to Winn, but it’s fun to see them banter and to see Winn come out on top (if I’m being quite honest). I want to see more Mon-El and Brainy interaction, but I think that should definitely come. And Imra I think, despite her shortcomings in previous episodes, did well in this one. And I think she showed some direction as being something other than a side character, with more agency, which is better than what we’ve seen thus far from Imra. Mon-El also still continues to confuse me, but the end scene with Kara shows some genuine concern and his need to help Kara, even through emotional turmoil.

Cristina - I enjoyed seeing Winn and Brainy working together, even though Brainy acted a little arrogant. I liked that Winn outsmarted him in the end - and in a way that made sense because Brainy didn’t know that little history fact about the Voyager given that history was erased in the future. Too often this show forgets that Winn is a genius in his own right and I’m glad that he was the one to save the day. I honestly still don’t really know what to think about Mon-El and Imra. Mon-El just seems like a shadow of a person. Imra comes off as a dainty Barbie doll and I’m still confused on what her powers actually are because the show seems to insist on her power being just moving objects with her mind and creating force fields, while both the comics and Amy Jackson have said that Imra can read minds. Anyway, there’s not much that can be said for this question because we haven’t actually seen the Legion members interacting that much with anyone besides Kara yet, and when they do have scenes at the DEO, it’s usually them spewing lies.

Winnie - Winn and Brainy was a brotp that we knew was coming and was super fun banter in practice. Beyond some complaining on the DEO's technological capabilities, the Legion seems to have fit right in. It was kinda fun seeing the boys have to stay back and nurse their egos while the girls went out and kicked ass. Happy that my boy Winn was the one who restored comms though! All in all it seems like they are falling into a type of partnership, but it is clear to me their priorities and maybe method of operation will vary at some point(s) in the future.

Opal - Brainy felt like a seamless addition to the DEO for me. I really loved his chemistry with Winn. I just wish they’d worked together. Once again the writers have chosen to belittle comic originals to hype up their own creations. Brainy and Winn could have easily inspired each other and found commonality. Instead, it became a Brainy versus Winn thing and once again the Legionnaires proved useless. Cristina detailed my problems with Imra far more eloquently than I can. So I’ll refrain from repeating it. Where I fundamentally disagree here with everyone is when we get to Mon-El. I’ve had very mixed feelings about Mon-El but during that balcony scene I finally saw a glimpse of the potential of Mon-El in the future. Sure, he’s been a mess but he showed a real depth of understanding. I think he was the first person this season to really put this very poorly conceived humanity arc into perspective for her. He didn’t address her as Supergirl or Kara Danvers, she was just Kara. He showed her that her mission was not for naught. She changed someone’s heart for the better. That’s incredible! That’s what makes Kara special. That’s what’s going to be her strength. This is the Mon-El from the comic books I so admire and respect. I’m not even talking about this as a Karamel shipper. I think it’s really important to have a friend who can level with her like this. Someone who only sees Kara rather than seeing all disparate identities. Someone who can empathize with her because of what he’s also been through. I think he’ll be a real asset to her not only in the fight against Reign but as a member of her team going forward.

Mia - Winn and Brainy’s scenes were my favorite scenes of the entire episode, I was laughing out loud! More of the two of them together, please! I feel like the Legion is finally starting to have some purpose (mind you: just starting) and I enjoy it. Brainiac-5 is by far my favorite of the team, he just won me over so quickly. I’m optimistic for the future of the DEO and the Legion cooperating, especially with the growing Worldkiller plot. There is so much potential!

The CW.

Alex had a virtual visit from the past; how do you think or hope this will affect her character?

Michelle - I really don’t know the point of the Maggie text other than to signal a turning point for Alex. I hope that we see her continue to grow without Maggie and hopefully develop something to her storyline that has to do with her being finally okay being alone. I hope she can be okay without Maggie and I wish for her to find happiness and contentedness with herself before we see her get into another relationship again.

Cristina - I think it was actually realistic - this kind of stuff does happen - but it felt really odd to me that she talked about it with Ruby. No one expects Alex to just move on super fast. Of course, it’s going to take time and she’s going to question herself a lot, but I think it’s all part of her journey. Eventually, I really hope she can move on and find everything that she’s looking for because YES, WOMEN CAN HAVE IT ALL.

Winnie - Let just say I audibly screamed when that text came through. I felt it in my gut when Alex said “I thought I was moving on.” As opposed to Kara after past? Mon-El left, we are actually getting to see Alex’s grieving process. The ups and the downs. In terms of affecting her moving forward, I don’t think there will be much of a shift as this kind of fit right in. I will say though, that it seems to me that Maggie keeps coming up quite a lot and I have feeling we have not seen the last of her.

Opal - I agree with all the points here about Maggie. I think we can all agree that Maggie meant a lot to Alex. Maggie was her first real love and you don’t just get over that at a flip of a switch. I agree with Cristina that it felt a bit odd that she was having this conversation with a preteen. I felt it would be better suited with Kara. In any case, this is a natural thing with breakups. As for moving on, I firmly believe Alex will in time find happiness. What happiness looks like for her that I don’t know.

Mia - I wonder what will happen next? It was a realistic thing to put into the story, but knowing fandoms, it might have been a bad move if they have no intention of having Maggie back whatsoever. We know fandoms connect with characters on a very personal level. It feels like maybe they threw it in there to make Alex connect to Ruby on a deeper level, but it felt a bit weird. Regardless though, and I don’t know if this is an unpopular opinion, but I’m really enjoying Alex and Ruby’s growing bond. It’s sweet.

Sam is starting to get the hint that something is up. Do you think Sam will find out before Reign finds a way to squash her humanity for good (which is also the title of the next episode)?

Michelle - I sure hope so. I think her seeing Ruby dying or vanishing really shook Reign (as we see that it kind of did). I do believe that her love for Ruby is tougher and stronger than Reign or her masters would have guessed (as they did discuss in this episode). If we’re going to go the really tragic route (which I lowkey kind of want), then right at the last second, Sam will pull through over Reign but Supergirl would have already delivered the dying blow, leaving us with a dead Sam/Reign. A la Angel at the end of season two Buffy. But, I also kind of want Ruby and her to be happy, so only time will tell. It’s obviously too early to know if her humanity is squashed for good (as the title might suggest) but maybe the audience will be shown that happens, but really that’s not the end of the story.

Cristina - At this point, I don’t really know. But I am definitely interested to see what happens in the next episode when Alex probably tries to take a blood test and the needle won’t break through Sam’s skin! Because I’m sure that they’ll want to drag this out as long as possible, I don’t think there will be a definite moment where Reign squashes Sam for good. I think it’s going to a be a constant inner battle up until the very end and the outcome, whatever it will be, will make for some good drama. On a side note, Odette Annable did a phenomenal job. She was the star for me in this episode.

Winnie - As I have said endless times before, Sam’s story is breaking my heart. That moment of realization she had on Fort Rozz was soul crushing. We are getting to see Sam as being trapped in/by Reign. I think her reaching out to Alex will set us on the path of Sam finding out (or not). In my mind, if Alex tried to run tests she will try to draw blood and it won’t work, but maybe I'm simplifying. My take is, Reign overcomes Sam and that’s what motivates the team to try and “save” her.

Opal - The Reign story has been really dragging for me since the fight at the end of 3x09. I expect some satisfying developments before the break starts. If we’re being honest, I don’t find Reign as a character very compelling, she’s just this robotic shell really. So I hope Sam doesn’t get turned “off” for good, because she’s the really interesting thing about Reign. I’d love a Spiderman circa 2001-esque scene where you see Sam and Reign duke it out for control and Reign winning. I do think Kara will find a way to reach her at the end because I think they used Psi to show that Ruby is the key to all of this. So I don’t think the switch is getting turned off “for good.”

Mia - The Reign/Sam storyline is my favorite of the season and keeps me interested episode after episode. As for what “for good” will mean, it could be so many things. It might end up being connected to Lena Luthor instead of Reign even. I don’t know about you but I’ve been wrong about what an episode title refers to more than once. But yeah, it’s really heading fast towards an impasse now. Alex running tests on Sam will be interesting to watch. And Odette Annable’s performances won’t disappoint, that’s for sure. She’s a true star.

The CW.

After seeing the rise of Julia, what do you hope is in store with that storyline?

Michelle - I think we’ll see something very similar to Sam’s where she has a normal life with people she loves, but then is stripped of her humanity, inch by inch, until the Worldkiller in her comes to full light. Krys Marshall seems super great and looked like she had a great time on set, so I’m super excited to see whatever is in store for her.

Cristina - Julia seems like a fun character, but let’s be honest - we don’t have time to develop her story like we have with Sam, especially not since there’s supposed to be two more Worldkillers coming in as well. I am slightly confused about her storyline though. In the First Look photo that was released, Julia is fighting Supergirl but she’s not wearing a mask or a suit like Reign, which means her identity is exposed to the world. In addition, based on behind the scenes information we’ve gotten so far, the team goes to Julia’s house in 3x13...so in one episode she’s choking the life out of Supergirl and in the next episode they’re all having a friendly afternoon tea at her house? Right now, there’s still too many questions for reasonable speculation!

Winnie - I’m really hoping that Julia gives us a few curveballs. What if she isn’t bad? What if she has managed to find a way of controlling her “Purity” side? What if she doesn’t want to join Reign? I’m really excited about this one. I’m a big believer in needing to have credibly menacing villains to act as the anti-hero and it seems like we are getting that many times over.

Opal - Julia or Purity really intrigues me as a character. I loved her sassiness as she was walking with her friend and you can tell she had a noble heart because she did end up sacrificing herself for her friend too. Purity as a Worldkiller name is very interesting to me. Reign is clearly the leader. Yet Purity is there to “purify” so I wonder if instead of doling out judgement like Reign does, her power will be to reform people or “purify” them. Either way, we can’t delve too deep into her because of the constraints we have with the overpopulation of characters. But it would be cool if her powers were being utilized differently compared to Reign. In the comics, only a Worldkiller can kill another Worldkiller so perhaps the team could even turn Purity against Reign and cut a deal (hence the negotiation that’ll take place in 3x13).

Mia - Ahhh, I’m excited to see more of Julia/Purity! Krys Marshall’s excitement is contagious! I guess we’re gonna see a similar development as Sam/Reign, only fast-forwarded and from an outside view. What will the “Purity” aspect be about? Will she be swayed by Supergirl and the good side? I’m so excited for the next couple of episodes!

Favorite Line

Michelle - Any time that Psi called Imra “Matilda” or whenever Livewire called Mon-El “Cosplay”

Cristina - “Dude, learn your history!” (Winn to Brainy)

Winnie - “She was 15!” (Alex about Kara and watching The Shining)

Opal - “You changed her heart for the better, I mean, that’s amazing. You did that without a yellow sun. That was all you." (Mon-El to Kara)

Mia - “I know what turbulence is!” (Winn to Brainy)

So now that you've heard our take on "Fort Rozz" let us know what you thought about the episode and we will see you next week!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page