top of page

The Tenth Day of Christmas: Samantha Arias


We are getting so close to the end of our wish list! Today goes to Samantha Arias, our resident Worldkiller on Supergirl. While she started out as a seemingly normal single mother just trying to raise her daughter, we quickly began to see that not all was as normal as it appeared to be. Crisis-induced powers and strange dreams led Sam to finally discover that she is not of this world. Read on below to find out what we had to say about Sam and her justice-bearing alter ego, Reign.

Opal - It’s been one episode and already I prefer Reign over Samantha. Because of my dislike of Ruby I never empathized with her as much as I should have. Odette is an incredibly likable presence which was why I felt something when she turned. She’s already brought such a menacing quality with one episode. However, it left much to explore. My first and foremost wish for Reign is for them to explain the duality between Sam/Reign. Is Sam gone forever? Is she still there and it’s a Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde situation? I also want them to flesh out and explain the prophecy more because I do believe it’s very vague. What are the conditions of success for each side ? Lastly I want them to explain how Reign has affected the future and how she caused this darkness Imra ominously referred to.

Michelle - I really like Odette, and I think she plays the two different characters of Reign and Sam so well. And in 3x07, when we saw her discover her true origin and destiny, the anguish she felt was so amazingly acted out. I’m not super attached to her character, but do know that her storyline is going to hurt to watch. Her love for Ruby is so prevalent, that that may be my downfall, and also Kara’s budding friendship with her (not to mention their possible relation) is going to be hard to stomach, most likely. One wish I have is to see more Reign, but that of course will happen with time - she did only just come onto the scene. Another wish I have for her is to see more of her backstory; I still don’t get how a struggling single teen mom was able to become a CFO of a huge company (but, who knows I guess). Lastly, I want more action sequences like we got in 3x09 but with more substance in the episode. There’s obviously more to her character and the “justice” she wields; I want to see more of that and not just the flashy punches.

Cristina - I’ll be honest, I found Sam and her arc at L-Corp boring so I was so very excited when in 3x07 we got to see her origin story and see her become Reign. In the second half of the season, I want to find out more about Reign and her plan for bringing justice. I also want to see more epic (but still practical) fights between her and Supergirl and the Legion. Because Reign has all the same powers as Kara, there is so much potential with her and I really hope that the show doesn’t cheat us on that.

Winnie - When I first heard about the ambitious arc for our season three villain I had my doubts. I thought it was unlikely that you could make me care about the villain in any real way. Little did I know, Sam’s storyline would get under my skin so seamlessly and swiftly, that I found her transformation in 3x07 nothing short of heartbreaking. Seeing as Sam/Reign is a new character “archetype” for a show that has had many memorable villains, I wish that we get to see continuous development for what has been an amazing start. I wish we get to understand more of her motives as a Worldkiller and I wish we get to see more of the struggle between Sam and Reign. In the spirit of the season and in the spirit of making wishes, I will make a relatively large one: I wish for a Sam redemption arc, even if a small. I know the character will likely have little to do after this season, and it is irrational to want this but it doesn’t make me want it any less because I have a real soft spot for Sam!

Mia - First, I just have to say how much I love Odette Annable and Sam/Reign this season. Having a villain starting out as a normal person with a normal life in a way where we get to see the entire arc of entering villainhood is really appealing to me. My wish for Sam/Reign’s story in season 3B ties in with Alura, and that’s to see how exactly she was created and how her dream of Alura ties in with her heritage. I really feel like she’s gonna be a genetic sister of Kara and that they will find this out only to then have Sam/Reign die after a small redemption arc (and that this will tie in with Ruby becoming a part of the family). I also want to see Lena finding out Sam’s true identity and for that to create some interesting scenes.

Now that you've heard our wishes for Samantha Arias for the rest of season three, let us know what you think. What do you hope to see with Sam when Supergirl returns next year? Stay tuned for more on our wish list tomorrow!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page