top of page

The Ninth Day of Christmas: Mon-El of Daxam


Day number nine belongs to the newly returned Mon-El of Daxam! Undergoing probably the most drastic change for any character on Supergirl, Mon-El came to Earth at the end of season one, was forced to leave Earth at the end of season two, and has now returned again in season three - each time a different man. It has long been teased that Mon-El's return, and more specifically, what he would bring with him, would change the show dramatically. Check out what we had to say about Mon-El so far in season three and what we wish to see with him in 3B.

Opal - Mon-El is a brand new character this season. Gone is the boy from Daxam; instead we have the hardened stoic soldier from the future. And don’t get me wrong, I’m absolutely fine with this. What I’m not fine with is that I don’t know how he became this person. He’s got no concrete characterization of his own. I need Mon-El to stop being a plot device for Kara’s angst and to stop being Imra’s lapdog. So my hope for 3B is that we learn his side of the story, see him own his leadership position and start calling the shots, and to finally see him prosper and thrive as a superhero. Chris Wood is such a wonderful actor - give him the material he deserves!

Michelle - I agree with Opal! Mon-El is great, and despite his flaws in season two, he really did have some intense character development in one season and then has changed even more this season into someone that’s a complete 180. The Mon-El we’re seeing this season has definitely changed - as is to be expected after seven years - and I want to really see how or why he is the way he is. I want to get the truth on his back story. I also want to see more of his interaction with others (i.e. Alex, Winn, Dana from the DEO). His talks with Kara only bring her (and, let’s face it, all of us) heartbreak. And until she gets the breakdown of his relationship status and his true backstory, that’s going to continue. I also really want to see what Lena has to say about Mike/Mon-El being back (which we should get by 3x13, I hope). My last wish for Mon-El is that he finds peace…I don’t think he’s very at peace right now, with anything. Is that because he’s hiding a ginormous secret about the Legion or about his “marriage”? Is it because he is actually married and is now being plagued by his re-developing feelings for Kara, whom he thought was long dead? I guess we won’t find out until January or later, but I just want him to finally be at peace with everything by the season finale.

Winnie - Exactly like Opal said, it feels like we have a whole new character. And I, for one, feel like we are getting to know him all over again. Seven years is a long time. Seven years in the future where everyone you know doesn’t exist (and you are already on an alien planet) will feel even longer. I feel like it is obvious that there is more going on with the Mon-El/Legion story, but to me Mon-El looks like someone who is consistently conflicted. I find that whenever I watch Mon-El my dominant thought is what must’ve happened to you for you to have changed this much, which is funny cause it's kinda similar to what Kara tells him. I don’t know if I can have wishes for Mon-El that are more heartfelt that Michelle’s, so yes, I wish he finds peace. I wish he is able to reconcile all that has happened to him and finally belong somewhere. I wish that we get to see him as the hero that Kara always saw in him. I wish that we get to see more of his story; how he carried Kara, what she taught him and his time on Earth with him in the future and let that guide him to become who he is today.

Cristina - Oh goodness, my heart breaks whenever I think of Mon-El and at this point I’m not sure if it’s because he’s been through so much, the apparent loss of his humor and charm from season two which I loved, the way his character is being written in general this season, or a combination of all of them. It’s probably the last one, let’s be honest. Look, I love character development and this stoic version of Mon-El is part of that. But like Opal said, we’ve seen nothing from his point of view so far. We haven’t seen any of that supposed development (unlike last season) - we’ve just been presented with this new version of Mon-El and expected to accept it. I hate that the writing has avoided his story or delving more into his character because it’s a major disservice. He’s been turned solely into a plot device for Kara’s pain, at the expense of his character and relationships with others. So my wishes for Mon-El is for him to stop being written solely as a plot device and rather that we get to see his story, his point of view, and of course, him being a superhero!

Mia - Just any and all character development is what’s on top of my wish list for Mon-El. Flashbacks and current day scenes which all show the hero he has become. For him to have an arc separate from Kara, whatever that entails (this doesn’t mean they can’t also have an arc in common, after all there is a lot of history between them and right now a lot of tension and confusion to tidy up). I just want Chris Wood to be given quality stuff to showcase his brilliant talent.

Now that you've heard our wishes for Mon-El of Daxam for the rest of season three, let us know what you think. What do you hope to see with Mon-El when Supergirl returns next year? Stay tuned for more on our wish list tomorrow!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page